Due to the recent heavy rainfall throughout the state of Indiana, Governor Eric Holcomb has declared 11 counties as disaster emergency areas. In both Porter and Jasper counties, flooding is directly correlated to the rise of the Kankakee River. Other counties impacted include Carroll, Dearborn, Elkhart, Fulton, Lake, Marshall, Perry, St. Joseph, Starke, Switzerland, and White. 

Indiana Michigan Power, the primary utility company that services the Northwest region of the state, has confirmed that many homes are still without electricity, and will remain as such until local inspections have been completed. 

As of Monday morning, Governor Holcomb added seven additional counties to the disaster emergency declaration, increasing the number to 18. The swelling of the Ohio River has impacted areas along the river line in Southwest Indiana and Northern Kentucky, resulting in serious road conditions where road closures either indicate impassibility or road erosion due to the persistent downpour.  

The Indiana Conference Disaster Response Team has been actively in communication with Indiana Voluntary Active Organizations in Disaster (VOAD) and with our churches and districts to connect with local faith communities to assess the damage experienced, and how the Conference can best respond to their needs. Churches in areas impacted by severe flooding are advised to contact their respective District Disaster Response Coordinator(s), listed below:

Central District: Jack Haefling, j.haefling@comcast.net
East District: John Young, john.young@inumc.org, Cindy Garver, cindy.garver@gmail.com
North Central District: Fred Dunwiddie, freddunwiddie61@gmail.com
North District: Vickie VanNeve, vvannevel@comcast.net
Northeast District: Gary Bard, ggbard82@gmail.com
Northwest District: Terry Brammer, terry.brammer@inumc.org
South District: Bill Amerson, btamerson@yahoo.com, David Powell, david.powell@inumc.org
Southeast District: Ed Cottrell, edward.cottrell@inumc.org
Southwest District: Bob Keller, kellerrh42@yahoo.com, Ron Flowers, raflowers634@msn.com
West District: Rick Koch, ministerrx@aol.com, Rick Pressel, rwpcmp92@yahoo.com
 
There will be need of volunteers and ERTs in the near future and more information will come as the team assesses needs. However, the most imperative need at the moment is donations to assist in the cost of recovery and to assist those who have been displaced. Click here to donate now or you can donate through your local church. You may also direct donations to the UMCOR United States Disaster Response Advance #901670.

As we continue to seek ways to be a missional Conference and offer the light of Jesus Christ to others, you are encouraged to be missional in your daily walk and reach out to those around you that have been impacted by this evolving natural disaster. 

For questions regarding disaster response needs or contributions, please email disaster.response@inumc.org.
To learn more about ways your church can strengthen its mission ministry, you are invited to attend "RESPOND: The Mission and Justice Summit," April 21, Grace UMC in Franklin, Ind.


 

The summit offers 14 different workshops including Engaging in Community Ministry, Partnering with your Local Schools, Disaster Response and UMCOR, as well as Forming a Church Green Team, and many others. Keynote Speaker Jeff Newton of Kokomo Urban Outreach will help guests explore the many ways we can strengthen our ministry with the poor. 

Cost is $15 per person. Register by April 12. 
For more event details click on the image above, or visit inumc.org/mjsummit2018.