UIndy’s annual Celebration of the Flags honors each country from which a current UIndy student, staff or faculty member hails.

INDIANAPOLIS – The University of Indianapolis, popularly known as UIndy, is a private, comprehensive and diverse institution of more than 5,400 undergraduate and graduate students. UIndy is widely known for its strong, well-established academic programs in education, business and health care – particularly nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy and psychology.

UIndy offers more than 80 undergraduate degree programs, 27 master’s degree programs and five doctoral programs. The University of Indianapolis consistently ranks among the top 25 percent of institutions in its class in the Midwest and is one of Indiana’s largest producers of doctoral degrees – graduating more physical therapists, occupational therapists and clinical psychologists than any other university in the state.

Located on the Southside of Indianapolis in the University Heights enclave, the University was founded in 1902 by the Church of the United Brethren in Christ, which through mergers later became the Evangelical United Brethren and, ultimately, The United Methodist Church. The university is approved by the United Methodist University Senate. Indiana Bishop Michael J. Coyner serves on the University’s Board of Trustees.

The University’s motto of “Education for Service” emphasizes the development of ethical and moral values and their application in every career. Students are encouraged to apply their unique knowledge and skills to real-world needs – to “do good with what they know” – through volunteering, service-learning opportunities and internships.

A display of flags from more than 60 nations in the Schwitzer Student Center reflects the international diversity of the campus. In addition to about 350 international students, the campus extends its hospitality to students of all faiths while providing extensive social, religious and extracurricular opportunities to a broad mix of students.

The University is a National Collegiate Athletic Association Division II affiliate, fielding 21 varsity sports for men and women. In recent years, many of these teams have reached postseason play, been nationally ranked, and excelled in the classroom as well. In sports, the University is known as the Greyhounds.