During the clergy’s executive session on June 7, of the Indiana Conference Bishop Mike Coyner led in the approval of new clergy in the life of the conference. The clergy also welcomed the Rev. Anne Rosebrock, senior pastor of Meridian Street UMC, Indianapolis, as the new chair of the Conference Board of Ordained Ministry. Outgoing chair, the Rev. John Groves, now serves as the Superintendent in the West District.

During the session, Matthew Walter Pickut was remembered in prayer. He is a provisional member of the conference seeking ordination as an Elder. Pickut is now on incapacity leave and in special care in Kentucky.

The clergy of the conference approved 13 candidates to be commissioned as provisional clergy members, as well as the ordination of two Deacons and 13 Elders. The clergy also approved the retirement of 32 active clergy.

Those retiring were also recognized. They include: Philip E. Abram, Wilma M. Sawyer Bone, Joe F. Bottorff, Donald G. Bradley, Stephen R. Cherry, J. Ross Daeschner, Jerold S. Dehn, Karen E. Devaisher, Sarah (Sally) Dickerson, Joseph N. Easley, Philip R. Emerson, Judith E. Fuller, Leslie Grimsley, Vicki L. Hobbs, Lennie R. Lawrence, Dennis D. Leinbach, Ronald Eugene Mabry, Ronald C. Mann, Diana Jean McCracken, Charles L. McPeek, Emily E. Niblick, Donald Nunemaker, Austin Dale Payne, Richard L. Pickering, Judith E. Purvis, Susan E. Ringenbach, Susan W.N. Ruach, Douglas Simpson, Kevin L. Stiles, Evelyn Taylor Haney, Joseph L. Trueblood and John Walls. These retiring ordained ministers collectively served 795 years of service.

Recognition of Orders and Transfer to Provisional Membership were granted to Amber Karkosky-Litten and Marion Jean Miller.

Incoming Elders place hands on retiring Elders during a service which recognized retiring Elders.