MUNCIE, Ind. – During the Indiana Conference clergy executive session June 10 at Union Chapel United Methodist Church, these 22 provisional members were approved for ordination as Elders and Deacons. They were ordained by Bishop Mike Coyner on June 13 in Emens Auditorium at Ball State in Muncie. They included:

Elders – Dennis Adams of Evansville; Karen Bray of West Terre Haute; Ted Chalk of New Middleton; Kevin DeKoninck of Winamac; Rebecca Fisher of Fort Wayne; Bradford Garrett of LaFontaine; Alex Hershey of Monticello; Warren Kirk of Grandview; Dave Marty of Huntington; Robert Preusz of Converse; Kevin Reed of Indianapolis; LeKisha Reed of Indianapolis; Dave Scifres of Noblesville; Ann Spahr of North Salem; Jerald Turner of Columbus; Eduard van Wijk of Kentland; Mary van Wijk of Remington; Brent Wright of Jamestown; Kevin Wrigley of Plainfield.

Deacons – Julie Macy of Columbia City; Mary Beth Morgan of Bloomington and Sheri Rohrer of Delphi.

Provisional members — These14 candidates were approved for commissioning as provisional members seeking ordination. They included: Bessie Adams of New Albany; Daniel Cho of Mundelein, Ill.; James Clark of Kokomo; Christopher Gadlage of Central; Lauren Hall of South Bend; Anthony Hunley of Indianapolis; Jacob Juncker of Lafayette; Kim King of Indianapolis; Matt Landry of Delaware, Ohio; William Nickrand of Ramsey; Damon Soper of Brownstown; Anthony Stone of Summitville; Gregory Waggoner of Morocco; and Donna Ward of Anderson.

Retirees – Also during the clergy session, 58 clergy were approved for retirement. They are listed in alpha order by their date of retirement and the number of service years. Included are: Jimmy Abbott, 10; Marcia Faye Carpenter, 18; Philip Granger, 32; Rosa Harris, 10; Laura Jones, 15; Thomas Shanahan, 8.5; Donald Smith, 39.5; Jon Walters, 30; Dennis White, 31; Donald Wilson, 22; Karen Morrow, 23; Richard Lyth, 15; Dennis Alstott, 10; Daniel Barker, 36; Diane Barrett, 12; Roy Eugene Carpenter III, 29; Nancy Harmon Chizmar, 29; Robert Church, 27; Marilyn Couger, 7; Billy Craddock, 10; Mark Day, 39; Linda Dolby, 33; Bill Farmer, 25; Jean Finney, 7; Malcolm Greene, 44.5; John Hall, 43; Jack Hartman, 44; Ann Hutchins-Case, 25; Myron James, 26; Jeffrey Jones, 30; David Kyle, 18; Harold Lee Klinker, 26; Chris Blane Madison, 34; Kenneth Mahan, 45; Judith Ann McGuire Marshall, 20; James Miller, 40; Joe Mitchell, 28; Robert Ostermeier, 40; David Overmyer, 20; Thomas Pitcher, 36; Timothy Rasmussen, 38; Alan Rumble, 41; Michael Rynkiewich, 17; Edward Scherer-Berry, 20; Patrick Schonbachler, 36; Hugh Severance, 17; Patrick Sinnott, 17; Leonard Sjogren, 36; Alvin Smith, 26; Doris Smith, 15; Larry Smith, 38; James Taylor, 45; Thomas True, 40; Don Viviano, 4; Roger Walby, 10; Glenda Ray Woodcox, 30; Kenneth Wooden, 33; and John Windell, 29. Their ministries total 1,540 years of service. Retirees were honored June 11.

In other business, the chairs of the clergy orders, Tim Burchill – Elders, Jennifer Pollard – Deacons, and Don Ransford – Local Pastors and Associate Members, encourage the clergy to be involved in covenant groups.

Clergy congratulated Local Pastors Course of Study graduates Linda McBride, John Long, Sharon Taylor, Daniel Voorhies and Warren Kirkwood.