The new Indiana United Methodist Foundation in one of its first items of business on Wednesday, June 30, elected officers. They are: Rick Childs, chairperson of the board; Mary Miller of Indianapolis, vice-chairperson; Forrest Bowers, secretary; and David V.W. Owen, treasurer.

The foundation was created by action of the members of the Indiana Conference during its annual session last month in Muncie. About the new officers:

  • Childs of Cicero in the North Central District is the former president of the United Methodist Foundation of South Indiana, Inc.
  • Miller of Indianapolis in the Central District is the former vice-chairperson of the former Indiana Area Foundation and a retired pastor of the conference who has served the church at all levels including General Board of Pension and Health Benefits.
  • Bowers of Muncie in the East District is a retired local pastor serving the Losantville UMC and a member of the former North Indiana United Methodist Foundation.
  • Owen is executive assistant to Indiana Bishop Mike Coyner.

Other foundation directors include: Nancy Armstrong of Indianapolis, Dixie Arter of Fort Wayne, John Clay of Warsaw, Bishop Mike Coyner, James Gentry of Indianapolis, Julie Goldsberry of Indianapolis, Tom Heck of Muncie, Walt Koon of Morgantown, Glenn Larson of Zionsville, Jay Love of Indianapolis, Mitch Norwood of Columbus, Nancy Raidy of Frankfort, Gene Robbins of Frankfort, Jim Shaw of Indianpolis, John Stroh of Columbus, Roger Summers of Fort Wayne and DeVon Yoho of Muncie.