BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - With a unanimous vote of more than 400 clergy members of the South Indiana Conference, 5 Elders, 1 Deacon, 4 Associate Members, 1 member from another denomination and 12 probationary clergy members were welcomed into the conference June 5 at First UMC in downtown Bloomington.

Those ordained June 7 included Elders Gi-Chae Lee, James Ray Moore, Mitchell Norwood, Lisa Schubert, David Williamson, Jamalyn Peigh-Williamson; and Deacon Cynthia Wood; Associate Members Dennis Alstott, Scott Bell, Jeffery Mair, and Mark Powell; and recognized from another denomination the ordination of Jimmy Moore.

Probationary candidates approved by the clergy session included: Sharon Lea Baker, Michael Brice Collins, Gregory Davis, Jenifer Stuelpe Gibbs, Ethan Maple, Jill Moffett Howard, Marcy Lynn Patrick, Adam Michael Payne, Andrew Dennis Payton, Renee Kathleen Perkins, Matthew Swisher and Michael G. Torrance.

The clergy celebrated the active ministry of 11 retiring clergy representing a total of 314 years of ministry. They include with years of service: Byron T. Hamrick (34), Gary Houston (28), Carl A. Martin (17), Robert A. McMillen (38), Margaret L. Pruden (16), Gerald E. Roberts (45), David N. Stevens (23), Donald A. Watson (42), Carol R. Wiley (21), Stanley J. Mullin, (41) and Donald Reed (9). Retirees were recognized June 6. Cyndi Alte, registrar of the Conference Board of Ordained Ministry, also reported that Adam Shourds was transferred to the Kentucky Conference and Patricia Watson was transferred to the Baltimore-Washington Conference at their own request.

Callie Smith, Elizabeth Bush and Ronald Walker have surrendered their credentials.

After numerous reports on not only Elders and Deacons, but also associate members, local church pastors and student pastors, Vincennes District Superintendent Judy Purvis announced a new clergy assessment process that will be used by the Bishop and SIC Cabinet. This was the same program outlined in the North Indiana Conference. (Read NIC story.)

Like the North Indiana clergy session, clergy members unanimously endorsed Kokomo District Superintendent Frank Beard of the North Indiana Conference as an episcopal candidate. Bishops will be elected by the North Central Jurisdictional Conference in July. To date there is one vacancy in the NCJ College of Bishops.