Laity Manuscript Award was won by Sue Forry of the Zionsville UMC. She delivered her message "One in the Ministry" saying the church needs to learn how to look for God in a culture that is not searching for God.

Scouting. The Bishop's Award of Excellence went to Boy Scout Troup 119 and Scoutmaster Lloyd DeWar of Ellettsville First UMC in the Bloomington District.

Outstanding Small Membership Church Award. Glenda Riggs announced that 19 churches were nominated. New Salem UMC in Rushville District and Phillip Mitchell, pastor, were awarded the Outstanding Small Membership Church Award.

Harry Deman Evangelism Award of the UM Evangelism Foundation for the South Indiana Conference clergy award went to Karen Devaisher, pastor of Avon UMC, also chair of the annual conference sessions committee. The laity award went to Lloyd Anderson of Barnes UMC in Indianapolis.