In 2015, the following congregations of the Indiana Annual Conference will have occasion to celebrate the anniversaries of their founding, according to a document in the Indiana United Methodist Archives at DePauw University. Although there could be some errors in the list, and some churches have been known to have closed or merged, this should provide an opportunity for a number of churches to check their history and see if they do have such an event in their near future. The Archives would welcome inquiries about the founding of your congregation.

Church believed founded in 1915, and celebrating 100 years next year:

  • Indianapolis Good Shepherd

Churches believed founded in 1865, and celebrating 150 years next year:

  • Alfordsville
  • Clifford
  • Elwood Grace
  • Etna Green M.E.
  • Hanna
  • Indianapolis Morris St.
  • Kokomo Zion
  • Mackey Salem
  • Mt. Olive (“before 1865”)
  • Ogden 
  • Richmond Webster
  • Terre Haute First
  • Walton

Churches believed founded in 1815, and celebrating 200 years next year!

  • Blooming Grove
  • Fountain City
  • Kent
  • Poseyville
  • Princeton First
  • Spartansburg (“about 1815”)

The Commission on Archives and History has resources to aid churches in preparing for and observing these special occasions. Contact Richard Stowe at