The Called to Fruitfulness Initiative participants gather for a group photo before departing.

Indiana Leadership Development

The Called to Fruitfulness Initiative launched in April 2015 for Elders and Deacons to celebrate their five-year anniversary interval of Full Connection in The United Methodist Church. Called to Fruitfulness’ purpose is the Indiana Conference Leadership Development’s commitment of professional development for clergy by recognizing, renewing, reflecting, resourcing and rejoicing with those who choose to participate in this initiative.

To kick off the 2015 CFI Class, a retreat was held April 14-15 in Brown County. This inaugural year gathered 39 clergypersons eager to embark on a journey of celebration and discernment. The participants were resourced with information about being a comprehensive leader, the Birkman Method, and compassionate communication. Throughout the two-day retreat, clergypersons were able to connect through small group discussions and ordination class reflections. There is an additional retreat planned for September 2015 for further resourcing, as well as a celebration in November 11, 2015, during Clergy Covenant Day.

This year, Leadership Development and the Indiana Conference would like to celebrate those who have committed to participating in this year’s Called to Fruitfulness Initiative:

35 years: Gary Cooper (Henryville UMC), Arch Hawkins (University Heights UMC), Scott Johnson (Memorial UMC)

30 years: Keith Adkins (Irvington UMC), Frank Beard (Castleton UMC), Al McFadden (Spencer UMC), Brad Miller (Greenwood Honey Creek UMC), Derek Weber (Fort Wayne Aldersgate UMC)

25 years: Sandy Cooper (Seymour First UMC), Larry Marhanka (Plymouoth First UMC), Scott Pattison (Kendallville Trinity UMC), Woody Thompson (Mohawk UMC), Steve Walker (Noblesville Emmanuel UMC)

20 years: Ed Beedle (Syracuse St. Andrews UMC), Jessi Langlie (Fletcher Place Community Center), Cindy Osgood (Yorktown UMC), Dennis Ticen (Portage First UMC)

15 years: Russ Abel (St. Joseph UMC), Donald Cline (Bartlett Chapel UMC), Mark Eastway (North Manchester UMC), Dan Helm (Mulberry UMC), David Taylor, Jr. (serving in Texas), Scott Tyring (Chesterton UMC)

10 years: Tim Johnson (Pfrimmers Chapel UMC), Joe Johnson II (Lawrence UMC), Matthew Stultz (Madison North UMC), Pam Wooden (Ecomony UMC/Greens Fork UMC), Jill Wright (Ligonier UMC)

5 years: Dennis Adams (Evansville Simpson UMC), Karen Bray (Elkhart Trinity UMC), Ted Chalk (Richmond First UMC), Julie Macy (Bartlett Chapel UMC), Dave Marty (Rockville First UMC), Sheri Rohrer (Delphi UMC), Ann Spahr (North Salem UMC), Jerry Turner (Dunlap UMC), Ed van Wijk (Kentland Trinity UMC), Brent Wright (Broad Ripple UMC), Kevin Wrigley (Bloomfield UMC)

We recognize and celebrate these servants called by God, ordained in Christ’s holy church and who serve in full connection. The Indiana Conference Leadership Development looks forward to the Called to Fruitfulness Initiative being a lasting and fruitful experience for all clergy as they celebrate their five-year interval anniversaries.