Purdue University's College of Liberal Arts honored five distinguished alumni Friday (April 17) during its 2015 annual awards banquet. Recipients of the 2014 distinguished alumni award are Bishop Michael Coyner, Kathy NimmerTodd PutmanChief Justice Loretta Rush, and Major General Erika Steuterman. Below is a brief overview of the recipients.

  • Michael Coyner (BA 1971, History), Bishop, Indiana Conference of the United Methodist Church (Indianapolis, IN)
  • Kathy Nimmer (MA 1992, English), English/Speech Teacher, Harrison High School (West Lafayette, IN)
  • Todd Putman (BA 1984, Brian Lamb School of Communication), Chief Commercial Officer, Bolthouse Farms (Sherman Oaks, CA)
  • Loretta Rush (BA 1980, History), Chief Justice, Indiana Supreme Court (Lafayette, IN) 
  • Erika Steuterman (BA 1976, French; MS 1977, Krannert), Major General (Retired), U.S. Air Force (West Lafayette, IN)

Since 1986, the College of Liberal Arts has honored 133 Distinguished Alumni Awards. The awards recognize alumni who are change agents in their communities as teachers, researchers, business leaders, visionaries, advocates, artists, and innovators.

The College of Liberal Arts, which was originally part of the School of Science, Education and Humanities, was created in 1963 to formally recognize the arts, humanities and social sciences as integral areas of teaching and research at Purdue. Today, the College of Liberal Arts includes the departments of anthropology, English, history, philosophy, political science and sociology, and the Brian Lamb School of Communication, School of Languages and Cultures, School of Interdisciplinary Studies, and the Patti and Rusty Rueff School of Visual and Performing Arts.