Lay Servant Ministry Training Opportunities

Lay Servant Ministry Training Opportunities are available throughout the 10 Districts in the Indiana Conference.  Information for classes is listed according to Districts, however those interested can take a class in any District.  

If you have questions please contact Natalie Macy at natalie.macy@inumc.org or the District contact listed.  

Central 

2018

November 10, 2018: Location and Classes TBD

Contact:  District Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Anthony Swinger; anthonyswinger@yahoo.com; (317) 372-4991

 

East District

Fall 2018

September 8 and 15: 9 a.m to 3p.m. - First UMC New Castle - BASIC, Leading Prayer, Accountable Discipleship

Contact:  

Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Jake Ohlemiller; jake.ohlemiller@inumc.org; (765) 637-8965

 

North

2018 

Fall 2018 classes TBD

Contact:  District Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Denise Parker; Dparker3434@gmail.com; (574) 361-7243

 

North Central

2018

Saturday, September 29 and October 6 - 9am to 3pm, Location TBD

Courses Offered:

TBD

Contact:  District Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Karen Zimmerman; karen.p.zimmerman@gmail.com; (765) 438-4535  

 

Northeast

2018

October 14 through November 11, Time TBD, Calvary UMC.

Contact:  

Assistant Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Ginger Booker; bookermom@gmail.com; (260) 750-1962

Assistant Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Julie Nusbaum; nusbaum5@frontier.com; (260) 488-3072

 

Northwest

Fall 2018 Dates TBD

Courses TBD

Contact:  Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Jean Hoover; postmaster46988@hotmail.com 

 

South District 

Fall 2018 Dates TBD

Courses TBD

Contact:  District Director of Lay Servant Ministries - R.C. Muhlbaier; rcmuhlbaier3@gmail.com; (502) 905-2707

 

Southeast

All classes are from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Cost is $10 per class payable to INUMC. Participants purchase the necessary book for each course. 

2018

BASIC Course
September 29, 2018: Bloomington St. Paul UMC - Deadline to register September 15, 2018

Advanced Courses
"Lay Servants Lead in Conflict Resolution" - August 11, 2018: Bloomington St. Paul UMC - Deadline to register July 28, 2018
"Aging and Ministry in the 21st Century" - August 18, 2018: Madison Trinity UMC - Deadline to register August 4, 2018
"Living Our United Methodist Beliefs" - September 8, 2018 Rockford UMC - Deadline to register August 25, 2018
"From Your Heart to Theirs: Delivering an Effective Sermon" - October 13, 2018: Tanner Valley UMC - Deadline to register September 29, 2018

Contact:  District Director of Lay Servant Ministries – Sarah Schwab; sschwab@aol.com; (318) 548-4156

 

Southwest

2018

September 15, 2018: Location:  Blue Grass UMC, 14200 Petersburg Road, Evansville

Registration 8 am CT, Classes 8:30 - 2:30 pm CT 

Cost is $10 per class payable to INUMC. Participants purchase the necessary book for each course.

 

Classes Offered:

Basic

Preaching

Spiritual Gifts

Lunch will be provided for class participants.

Contact:  District Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Amy Hartig; amy.hartig@inumc.org; (812) 453-7346

 

West 

Fall 2018 Dates TBD

Courses TBD

Contact:  District Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Jim Roach; jim.roach@inumc.org; (812) 360-5159

 

 

Connect with us
Subscribe to our emails

Keep up with the latest news, information and inspiration.