Lay Servant Ministry Training Opportunities

Lay Servant Ministry Training Opportunities are available throughout the 10 Districts in the Indiana Conference.  Information for classes is listed according to Districts, however those interested can take a class in any District.  

If you have questions please contact Natalie Macy at natalie.macy@inumc.org or the District contact listed.  

Central 

2018

May 12, 2018: Location and Classes TBD

November 10, 2018: Location and Classes TBD

Contact:  District Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Anthony Swinger; anthonyswinger@yahoo.com; (317) 372-4991

 

East District

Fall 2018

September 8 and 15: 9 a.m to 3p.m. - First UMC New Castle - BASIC, Leading Prayer, Accountable Discipleship

Contact:  

Assistant Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Jake Ohlemiller; jake.ohlemiller@inumc.org; (765) 637-8965

Assistant Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Curtis Banker; curtis.banker@inumc.org

Assistant Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Rev. Scott Bell; pastorscott@emumc.com; (812) 234-0776

 

North

2018 

February 3 - March 3, 2018 - Each Saturday from 9 a.m. to 12:15 p.m. at Evangel Heights UMC - Class offerings TBD

March 4 - March 25, 2018 - Each Sunday afternoon from 1 p.m. - 4:30 p.m. at Michigan City First UMC - Class offerings TBD

Contact:  District Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Denise Parker; Dparker3434@gmail.com; (574) 361-7243

 

North Central

2018

Saturday, April 28 and May 5, 2018 - 9am to 3pm, Location TBD

Contact:  District Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Karen Zimmerman; karen.p.zimmerman@gmail.com; (765) 438-4535  

 

Northeast

2018

Save the Dates! April 8, 2018 through May 6, 2018.

Contact:  

Assistant Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Ginger Booker; bookermom@gmail.com; (260) 750-1962

Assistant Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Julie Nusbaum; nusbaum5@frontier.com; (260) 488-3072

 

Northwest

Spring 2018

April 28: 8 a.m to 6 p.m. (lunch included) - Bethlehem UMC - BASIC, Pastoral Care, Life Together in the UM Connection

Contact:  Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Jean Hoover; postmaster46988@hotmail.com 

 

South District 

Spring 2018 TBD 

Contact:  District Director of Lay Servant Ministries - 

 

Southeast

All classes are from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Cost is $10 per class payable to INUMC. Participants purchase the necessary book for each course. 

2018

BASIC Course
April 14, 2018: Madison Trinity UMC - Deadline to register March 31, 2018
September 29, 2018: Bloomington St. Paul UMC - Deadline to register September 15, 2018

Advanced Courses
"Life Together in the United Methodist Connection" - March 10, 2018: Rockford UMC - Deadline to register February 24, 2018
"Justice in Everyday Life" - May 19, 2018: Batesville UMC - Deadline to register May 5, 2018
"Dancing with Words" - June 16, 2018: Tyson UMC - Deadline to register June 2, 2018
"Lay Servants Lead in Conflict Resolution" - August 11, 2018: Bloomington St. Paul UMC - Deadline to register July 28, 2018
"Aging and Ministry in the 21st Century" - August 18, 2018: Madison Trinity UMC - Deadline to register August 4, 2018
"Living Our United Methodist Beliefs" - September 8, 2018 Rockford UMC - Deadline to register August 25, 2018
"From Your Heart to Theirs: Delivering an Effective Sermon" - October 13, 2018: Tanner Valley UMC - Deadline to register September 29, 2018

Contact:  District Director of Lay Servant Ministries – Sarah Schwab; sschwab@aol.com; (318) 548-4156

 

Southwest

2018

March 17, 2018: Location:  Blue Grass UMC, 14200 Petersburg Road, Evansville

Registration 8 am CT, Classes 8:30 - 2:30 pm CT 

Classes Offered:

Basic

Transforming Evangelism

Teach Adults

Lunch will be provided for class participants.   

Contact:  District Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Amy Hartig; amy.hartig@inumc.org; (812) 453-7346

 

West 

Spring 2018 TBD 

Contact:  District Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Jim Roach; jim.roach@inumc.org; (812) 360-5159

 

 

Connect with us
Subscribe to our emails

Keep up with the latest news, information and inspiration.