Lay Servant Ministry Training Opportunities

Lay Servant Ministry Training Opportunities are available throughout the 10 Districts in the Indiana Conference.  Information for classes is listed according to Districts, however those interested can take a class in any District.  

If you have questions please contact Emily Krach at emily.krach@inumc.org or the District contact listed.  

Central 

When:  Saturday, November 12, 8 a.m.

Where:  Castleton UMC

Classes Offered:

  • Basic Course
  • Preaching 
  • Polity
  • Discernment and Action for Lay Servants

Contact:  District Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Anthony Swinger; anthonyswinger@yahoo.com; (317) 372-4991

 

East District

No classes available this fall - winter/spring classes will be available

Please consider classes in nearby districts 

Contact:  

Assistant Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Jake Ohlemiller; jake.ohlemiller@inumc.org; (765) 637-8965

Assistant Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Curtis Banker; curtis.banker@inumc.org

Assistant Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Rev. Scott Bell; pastorscott@emumc.com; (812) 234-0776

 

North

When:  Every Saturday from September 10 to October 8,  9 a.m.-12:15 p.m. EST 

Where:  Walnut Creek UMC

Classes Offered:

  • Basic Course
  • Beginning Preaching
  • Advanced Preaching
  • Discovering Your Spiritual Gifts
  • Leading Bible Study 
  • Holy Club Reclaimed 

Contact:  District Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Denise Parker; Dparker3434@gmail.com; (574) 361-7243

 

North Central 

When:  2 Consecutive Saturdays - September 24 and October 1, 9 a.m.-3 p.m.

Where:  Kemp UMC 

Classes Offered:

  • Basic 
  • Class Leaders
  • Life Together in the UM Connection

Contact:  District Director of Lay Servant Ministries - James Ottjes; James.ottjes@gmail.com; (260) 417-2473

 

Northeast

When:  Every Sunday from September 11 to October 9, 2:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m. with a Commitment Service 4 p.m. on October 9

Where:  Bethel UMC

Classes Offered:  

  • Basic Course
  • Preaching 1
  • Preaching 2
  • Preaching 3
  • Bible Study:  Romans
  • UM Heritage and Polity 
  • Leading Public Prayer
  • Leading Worship      

Contact:  

Assistant Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Ginger Booker; bookermom@gmail.com; (260) 750-1962

Assistant Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Julie Nusbaum; nusbaum5@frontier.com; (260) 687-0020

Assistant Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Carla Rice; crice@millsupplies.com; (260) 366-3978

 

Northwest

When:  Saturday, October 15, 8 a.m. - 6 p.m.

Where:  Twelve Mile UMC

Classes Offered:

  • Basic 
  • Leading Worship 
  • From Your Heart to Theirs 

Contact:  

District Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Adam Speicher; adam.speicher@inumc.org; (574) 643-2048

Assistant Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Darlene DeHaai; shalomlafayette@gmail.com; (574) 398-1328

 

South District

When:  Saturday, September 10, 8 a.m.-6 p.m.

Where:  Jeffersonville Wesley UMC

Class Offered:  Leading Worship 

 

When:  Saturday, September 17, 8 a.m.-6 p.m.

Where:  Jacobs Chapel UMC

Class Offered:  Polity, Practice and the Mission of the UMC  

 

Contact:  District Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Bob Wells; brlwells1937@twc.com; (502) 419-6668

 

Southeast

When:  Saturday, September 10, 9 a.m.-6 p.m.

Where:  Batesville UMC

Class Offered:  Basic Course 

 

When:  Saturday, September 24, 9 a.m.-6 p.m.

Where:  Batesville UMC

Class Offered:  Leading Worship 

 

When:  Saturday, October 22,  9 a.m.-6 p.m.

Where:  Madison Trinity UMC

Class Offered:  Discover Your Spiritual Gifts 

 

When:  Saturday, October 29, 9 a.m.-6 p.m.

Where:  Tyson UMC 

Class Offered:  You Can Preach 

 

Contact:  

District Director of Lay Servant Ministries – Dr. P.T. Wilson; pt.wilson@inumc.org; (812) 663-5773

Assistant Director of Lay Servant Ministries – Rev. Mike Dixon; mike.dixon@inumc.org; (574) 274-3817

 

Southwest

When:  Saturday, September 24, 8 a.m.-2:30 p.m. CT

Where:  Bluegrass UMC

Classes Offered:  

  • How to Lead Effective Worship
  • Discovering Your Spiritual Gifts
  • Bible Study 

Contact:  District Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Debra Neyhouse; Stevedebbie1530@sbcglobal.net; (812) 893-0733

 

West 

When:  Saturday, November 19

Where:  Sullivan First UMC

Classes Offered:  

  • Basic Course 
  • Worship 

Contact:  District Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Jim Roach; jim.roach@inumc.org; (812) 384-3060

 

Connect with us
Subscribe to our emails

Keep up with the latest news, information and inspiration.