Lay Servant Ministry Training Opportunities

Lay Servant Ministry Training Opportunities are available throughout the 10 Districts in the Indiana Conference.  Information for classes is listed according to Districts, however those interested can take a class in any District.  

If you have questions please contact Emily Krach at emily.krach@inumc.org or the District contact listed.  

Central 

Contact:  District Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Anthony Swinger; anthonyswinger@yahoo.com; (317) 372-4991

 

East District

Muncie Riverside UMC on Sundays February 5, 12, and 19.

We will include these courses:

BASIC

Go Preach!

Discover Your Spiritual Gifts

Devotional Life in the Wesleyan Tradition

Contact:  

Assistant Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Jake Ohlemiller; jake.ohlemiller@inumc.org; (765) 637-8965

Assistant Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Curtis Banker; curtis.banker@inumc.org

Assistant Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Rev. Scott Bell; pastorscott@emumc.com; (812) 234-0776

 

North

Contact:  District Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Denise Parker; Dparker3434@gmail.com; (574) 361-7243

 

North Central

April 29, 2017

May 6, 2017

September 30, 2017

October 7, 2017

Contact:  District Director of Lay Servant Ministries - James Ottjes; James.ottjes@gmail.com; (260) 417-2473

 

Northeast

Spring Academy will be March 5 Through April 2.

Basic

Bible

Preaching 1

Preaching 2

Preaching 3

Forgiveness

Gifts

Developing Community Connections goes with the Back to Basics from February 11th class.

Contact:  

Assistant Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Ginger Booker; bookermom@gmail.com; (260) 750-1962

Assistant Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Julie Nusbaum; nusbaum5@frontier.com; (260) 687-0020

Assistant Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Carla Rice; crice@millsupplies.com; (260) 366-3978

 

Northwest

April 22, 2017   8 am - 6 pm ET

Location:  Twelve Mile UMC (8251 St Rd 16,  Twelve Mile, IN 46988)

   1). Basic

   2). Accountable Discipleship

   3). Devotional Life In the Wesleyan Tradition

Lunch will be provided for class participants.  

 

October 21, 2017    8 am - 6 pm ET

Location: Twelve Mile UMC

   1). Basic

   2). Lay Pastoral Care

   3). Life Together In the United Methodist Connection

District Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Adam Speicher; adam.speicher@inumc.org; (574) 643-2048

Assistant Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Darlene DeHaai; shalomlafayette@gmail.com; (574) 398-1328

 

South District

Contact:  District Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Bob Wells; brlwells1937@twc.com; (502) 419-6668

 

Southeast

All classes are from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Cost is $10 per class payable to INUMC. Participants purchase the necessary book for each course. 

Basic Courses

February 4 at Versailles Tyson UMC – registration – deadline to register is January 21.

April 1 at Madison Trinity UMC – registration – deadline to register is March 18.

September 9 at Batesville UMC – registration – deadline to register is August 26.

Advanced Courses

 “Life Together in the UM Connection” - March 4 at Batesville UMC – registration – deadline to register is February 18

 “From Your Heart to Theirs: Delivering an Effective Sermon” - May 6 at Batesville UMC – registration – deadline to register is April 22

 “Leading In Prayer” - September 16 at Batesville UMC – registration – deadline to register is September 2.

“Living Our UM Beliefs” - October 14 at Madison Trinity UMC – registration – deadline to register is September 30

“Discover Your Spiritual Gifts” - November 4 at Versailles Tyson UMC – registration – deadline to register is October 21.

Contact:  

District Director of Lay Servant Ministries – Dr. P.T. Wilson; pt.wilson@inumc.org; (812) 663-5773

Assistant Director of Lay Servant Ministries – Rev. Mike Dixon; mike.dixon@inumc.org; (574) 274-3817

 

Southwest

March 18, 2017 – 8 am – 2:30 p.m.

Location:  Blue Grass UMC

Basic

Prayer 

Contact:  District Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Debra Neyhouse; Stevedebbie1530@sbcglobal.net; (812) 893-0733

 

West 

April 1 at Mt. Pleasant in Terre Haute

Basic

Preaching

Contact:  District Director of Lay Servant Ministries - Jim Roach; jim.roach@inumc.org; (812) 384-3060

 

 

Connect with us
Subscribe to our emails

Keep up with the latest news, information and inspiration.